Election Day Excitement/Brain Dump

  • When I woke up this morning, I felt excited, like it was a holiday.  And in a way, it is.  Today is the first time in my life I will vote for a presidential candidate at the polls.  In previous years, I’ve always voted by absentee ballot.  This is exciting stuff!  At 27, I’m finally a resident where I live and I get to walk in and make a decision about who I want to be president ON Election Day.  Chris and I are going to vote when he gets out of work, then head to his co-workers for an Election Day party.  I’m hoping there’s a lot of wine, pizza, and friendly election chatter.  I get really defensive when people get overly political or too far right/left, so hopefully things will be relatively neutral and I can just enjoy myself and the excitement that comes with picking a president every four years.
  • As Election Day rolls around, I can’t help but think where I was four years ago…eight years ago.  Life changes INSANELY over four years, and I literally cannot even fathom what the next four will bring.  Chris’s contract doesn’t bring us to the next presidential election, so all bets are off.  Will we be in New York State?  Will we have a bigger family?  Will we live closer to family…or further away?  It’s a crazy thing to think about, but it’s also exciting.  I look forward to what the next four years bring and the the excitement of the unknown.
  • Part of my job involves matrimonial law and I find it EXHAUSTING.  I have to learn to separate my own personal feelings and emotions from my work and this is a really new concept to me.  Previously, I felt that my compassion was an asset at my job, but now I think if I’m so compassionate, I’m going to drain myself emotionally and it won’t be good.  But watching people go through a divorce is not pretty.  There really are no winners and I pray that it’s never something I have to experience.
  • I miss my niece and I’m counting down the days until I see her.  Oh yeah, and the rest of my family…but really.  My niece.
  • Guys, if you can, help the tri-state area.  Blankets, batteries, food, money, time, whatever you can do.  It’s heartbreaking to see, and to know how many of my dear friends are suffering.  Most people I’m close to lost nothing more than the convenience of electricity…but you try and live a week without electricity!  I don’t think I can do it.  Other people lost everything, and it will be much harder for them to rebuild and recover.  Don’t let Sandy be last week’s news…the people who were affected will be suffering so much longer than that.

 

And with that, I think I’ve satisfied my monthly blogging quota…but you never know.  Maybe I’ll be back with a real thought out blog post.

 

Happy Election Day, all!  Go vote, no matter who for.  Your voice matters.

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

